The Road to Salers

DSCN1274

The road we took to Salers was a little intimidating, one lane, cliff wall on one side and drop offs ranging from rolling hills to deep ravines on the other. If you meet a car coming the other way there is not much wiggle room to pass and in some places it would have been impossible, someone would have to back up. My companions were very nervous and suggested finding another way but thankfully my bro-in-love is an adventurous soul, and an excellent driver I might add. The drive was so beautiful I cant even begin to do it justice with words. The wild, lush volcanic mountain forests of the Auvergne region stole my heart.

 

Salers is a beautifully preserved 16C village sitting at an  altitude of 950 m in the “Parc Naturel Régional des Volcans d’Auvergne” Nature Park. It is filled with many artisans and artists. There was even a local blacksmith though, much to my disappointment, the shop was not open that day.

It was a sweltering hot day and my companions were getting grumpy but as we made our way back to the car we saw this little park like place with a low wall and an inviting path. It took a little encouragement to get them to keep walking but just look at the view we would have missed if  we had not taken the time to do so…

 

Amazing, awesome, beautiful, yeah… words just do not seem to do it justice.

My lesson from Salers? BE BRAVE! Take that intimidating and scary road! Follow it through until you reach your destination. You will never know the treasures that lie at the end if you give in to your fears and turn back. Also, I learned a lesson about asserting myself, not being so compliant to the fears and weaknesses of others that I am held back from my dreams and visions.

Leave a Reply

